1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Non-contact time

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by laura071005, Jan 14, 2012.

1. laura071005

laura071005 New commenter

I work as a Nursery class teacher with more contact hours than the other years in the school due to the two sessions per day. I have 30 hours contact a week and only 4 hours 15 non contact altogether (split into 2 hours PPA and 2 hours 15 NQT time) I can't see how it works out to the 10% we are supposed to get but I may be wrong! Can anyone help? Thanks

2. laura071005

laura071005 New commenter

I work as a Nursery class teacher with more contact hours than the other years in the school due to the two sessions per day. I have 30 hours contact a week and only 4 hours 15 non contact altogether (split into 2 hours PPA and 2 hours 15 NQT time) I can't see how it works out to the 10% we are supposed to get but I may be wrong! Can anyone help? Thanks

3. Captain Obvious

Captain Obvious New commenter

You should have roughly an 81% timetable - The normal 10% PPA, and then a further 10% of that 90%. You should really have closer to 5-6 hours in total, by my count.

4. Agree with the above - but the easiest way is to find out what other non-NQT teachers have. You should have 10% less teaching than them (obviously, don't look at the timetable of someone with TLRs or other responsibilities reducing their teaching time).

5. If you have a 34-hour timetable approximately (including both contact and non-contact time) then you should have around 6 hours non-contact time.