1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

No wonder most physics graduates don't teach at secondary level

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by frankgus, Mar 11, 2011.

1. Well the title of the post says it all,

I am a physics graduate a 2:1 in Astrophysics, I also have a Post graduate diploma in Optoelectronics, and have just finished a PhD in nuclear physics, where I have collaborated and attended many international experiments at laboratories such as CERN. So you would think that I would be qualified to teach physics to secondary school students, well according to Sunderland University I am not.

As I have said, I have just completed my PhD, and instead of going into industry or continue in academia, I wanted to be a secondary school teacher so that I could pass on the knowledge and experience in physics that I have gained. So after spending so many years as a student ( a lot of debt) I thought I would apply for the Graduate teacher program, in the North east where my roots are. Anyway I did this around three months ago and today I received a letter which told me that I was not qualified enough to be accepted for the role.

I didn't even get an interview ! Well I just find it a complete joke ! As I say in the title it is no wonder that physics graduate snub teaching, when they are clearly more appreciated by academia and industry.

Anyway I will now most likely become a post doctoral researcher, and then go on to also lecture physics to undergraduate students. The next time a hear a someone say that we need more physics graduates to become teachers, I will kindly tell them to shut up !