1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

No policy on cyberbullling or Internet at Primary School

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by franceslaing, Jun 16, 2009.

1. Hello there,
    I'm a trained teacher in Adult Education and work a great deal with the Internet in my job.
    My daughter is due to start school this September. I've become concerned that the school has no policy on safe Internet use, no guidelines for parents, and no anti-bullying or anti cyberbullying strategies either. I feel that the points I've raised i.e that they develop a policy have met with a dismissive response so far. I've written to Ofsted and the Child Exploitation and On-line protection centre asking them to intervene and develop a policy with the school. I'm not really sure whether they can actually do anything though, if the school won't.
    There are also concerns about school photographs. It is true that school and nursery photographs are a really nice tradition - but parents have not been provided with guidelines or guidance about what is acceptable on the Internet, and awareness at the school is low. I feel, especially given what has happened recently - some sort of national policy needs to be in place - and more guidance and support given to teachers and parents on these issues.
    What do other schools do on this one? Is there a standard policy somewhere that can be adapted? I feel other schools may be further along in thinking this one through...
    Regards
    Frances Laing

2. Hello Frances,
    it's very important that schools adopt policies to tackle cyberbullying, either as a new policy or by adapting bullying policies.