1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NO PLACE FOR ROTE LEARNING

Discussion in 'Education news' started by JosieWhitehead, Feb 18, 2016.

1. JosieWhitehead

JosieWhitehead Star commenter

I feel sure that our education system is constantly being played with - - perhaps just to keep someone in a job. When I did my teacher training (I'm now a retired FE teacher), we were told that all rote learning was to be banned from schools. Now there is no reason why March is the third month and January the first is there? There is no reason why A should come before B - - - and so on. So when these students were fed through the schools and arrived in my class, they hadn't learned the alphabet, and so they couldn't use a dictionary etc etc. So, before I could teach them my subject, I had to teach them the alphabet. Then it didn't take long for people to see how stupid this rule was and it was all changed. We were taught also to learn poetry by heart and had to stand at the front and recite our poems, throwing our voices to the far corners of the classroom without shouting, and putting expression into our voices and body language etc. But this was "rote" learning and so it was taken out of the curriculum for many years and now, ha ha - it has come back. I write poems that are performance poems, and this type of poetry links itself well to music, drama, and many other arts subjects. I've even had one poem incorporated into an operatic work, staged last year. I have taught all my life and you will know that being able to throw your voice well across a classroom, making your voice interesting to those who hear it, and adding facial expression, body language etc etc to this, helps to make you a wonderful teach