1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

No interview, is it because...

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by yardf0x, Apr 3, 2012.

1. Dear Theo,

I have ten years' experience teaching English and am at UPS2. I left my previous job after a short period (6 months) and am currently doing supply. I am applying for jobs which are mostly MPS and not even getting an interview.

Is it because I am too expensive?
    Can I mention in an app letter that I would be willing to work at a lower rate of pay than my UPS2?
    Why is it that more experience counts against me?

Sincerely,

Jon

2. Dear Theo,

I have ten years' experience teaching English and am at UPS2. I left my previous job after a short period (6 months) and am currently doing supply. I am applying for jobs which are mostly MPS and not even getting an interview.

Is it because I am too expensive?
    Can I mention in an app letter that I would be willing to work at a lower rate of pay than my UPS2?
    Why is it that more experience counts against me?

Sincerely,

Jon

3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Quite possibly. It's a daft situation, schools cannot always afford to appoint the people they think are best suited to the post if they are too expensive. Experience is usually a good thing, but not if it costs a school.
    *sigh*
    No, a maintained school in England and Wales is not allowed to pay you less than your current pay point, I'm afraid, so that is no solution.
    Here, however, are my suggestions:
    Suggestion 1 - follow the application advice on here