1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

No bread

Discussion in 'Personal' started by JayDean1, Oct 22, 2011.

1. I’ve searched bags, and purses and coat pockets, and delved behind all the cushions on the settee, and finally had to accept that I can’t afford both vegetables and bread this week. We have run out of money. I’m a full time teacher and a single parent. Both my youngest have needed new coats this month, and one needed new shoes. That aside, here are some of the expenses I have had this month, which I wouldn’t have had if I were on benefits. Rent. Council tax. Prescription charges. Opticians. Childcare. School meals. Transport to work. Union fees. Smart clothes. Tights. Board markers. Nor would I have had to pay the full amount for gas, children’s sports or transport aside from work. I have been following the arguments on the “opinion” forum about child poverty. My children are living in poverty, because I work. They would not live in poverty if I refused to work, but what sort of example would that be setting them?
    Fortunately we have flour and yeast in the cupboard, and the children like homemade bread. They think I am getting up early in the morning to make bread, simply as a half term treat.

2. Anonymous

Anonymous New commenter

I know it's unfair. Why work when you could get full support if you are on benefits? You are setting a great example working. Do you qualify for tax credits? Do you get maintenance? And yes - I do know some exes are awful at paying maintenance.
    And I do know it's possible to be on what is a decent wage and be in poverty. Especially if you have children and all the associated costs like heating, food and clothes.