1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Nintendo DS

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by uxbridge_gal2, Jan 21, 2012.

1. Hello,

I am a trainee teacher on the PGCE course and I have chosen to incorporate the Nintendo DS in one of my lessons in order to support a child who has English as an Additional Language and also has mild Special Educational Needs. This child struggles in maths and I have used the DS with him, using the many maths games available to support his learning.

Now I was wondering if there are any advanced features of the DS?

As part of my research I need to be able to show progression using his ICT skills, this was first shown by him using the DS for the first time having never used one before and now actually to be able to competently use a DS at the end of a session. So in order to show progression of his ICT skills are there any features which could be utilised? I am aware of the chat feature between other DS and being able to connect with other DS users within the vicinity would be an option, but is there anything else, something maybe more advanced which could show this progression?

Thank you in advance!

2. Vince_Ulam

Vince_Ulam Star commenter