1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Nightmare situation, support plan and all

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by philjerning, Nov 14, 2015.

1. philjerning

philjerning New commenter

Hello all,
    I am an experienced primary teacher who started at a new school this September. Let's call it 'school A'.
    It took me only three weeks to make up my mind that this school wasn't for me. Another school (school B) contacted me about a middle management post on an impromptu notice. I couldn't tell HT I was going for the interview, I went anyway and I got the job.
    I then resigned at school A stating that I wasn't the right person for the job before the deadline(31st October).
    School B contacted School A for a reference and all hell broke.

School A told school B that I wasn't ready for the promotion and the reference they got from my previous school was nothing like they have seen.
    School A also sent a written reference to school B which was full of things that were untrue like I left the TA to plan and teach the children.
    Then, School B withdrew the job offer based on unsatisfactory reference.

School A got very upset that I wanted to move on and said I would be facing disciplinary procedure for not saying I was going for an interview.
    I have since apologised for going to the interview without telling them but they are looking for all ways to get at me.

School A has since made my job unbearable. They have called me in for a meeting everyday, playing the emotional mind game about letting the children down. They also came to observe me teach and stated that I would be put on a support plan linked to appraisal for the remaining 5 weeks before I leave.