1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Next step?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Zeppo6, Jun 21, 2020.

1. Zeppo6

Zeppo6 New commenter

Hi!

I'm a British TESOL teacher here. I worked in Japan for 8.5 years. Did a mixture of things - conversation, high school teaching, taught kids and taught at Universities (through conversation program connected to university)

Then I moved to Canada and now I work at a language school here. Conditions are not great, but it is nice as I always wanted to live in the US and I guess this is the closest I'll get.

I am thinking about taking that next step by getting a masters in TESOL then maybe moving back to Asia with that, or using it to get a better gig here. I might move back to Japan or try Malaysia.

Just wondering if anyone had any experience teaching in Canada full time? Did getting the masters help?

Did it help you in Asia?

I'm also considering moving back to the UK and getting a PGCE to teach at international school. Having not lived in the UK for 10 years, I have no idea if I could move back and get all the background checks and stuff. There's also the weird psychological aspects after all this time in exile, which I suppose is a comfortable discomfort for me now.

Or if this whole idea is stupid, then let me know that too. It's very hard to imagine moving anywhere now what with COVID.

2. Ne11y

Ne11y Occasional commenter

I think you have discussed a lot of options here, so maybe need to prioritise your goals first.

1. Do you want to stay in Canada, or work internationally?

2. Do you want to work in language schools, or international schools (Higher salary more likely in the latter)?