1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Next move?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by JayeTigger, Oct 3, 2018.

1. JayeTigger

JayeTigger New commenter

Hi Tessers,
    I am a teacher on UPS1 with management experience at two previous schools.

I stated a teaching job with management responsibilities at the beginning of this academic year and have just today handed my notice in with immediate effect as agreed with the SLT and the union.

I am devastated that it has come to this. I never envisaged being in jobless but I couldn’t physically or mentally carry on being at that particular school for a number of reasons.

My GP suggested counciling which I am
    happy to try out. I do truly believe that it was the circumstances at the school that made me deeply unhappy to the point that I was ill. I didn’t have time to eat or sleep properly due to the demands of the school which has never happened before.

Now I’m out of the situation that made me feel so overwhelmed, alone, and fearful, I am scared that I will never get another job.

What are my chances of being employed again with this track record? I am expensive and now it looks like I quit after 4 weeks.

Sorry for moaning on but I do feel that after many years of successful and happy teaching, I’ve ruined berything with one wrong move. These thoughts aren’t helping my recovery.

2. dunnocks

dunnocks Star commenter