1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Newish Teacher wanting more responsibilities...

Discussion in 'NQTs and new teachers' started by anon9092, Feb 18, 2016.

1. anon9092

anon9092 New commenter

Well, I am in my second year of teaching and my second school. I love my job, the kids and school so much. However, in both my teaching jobs I have felt like I am being overlooked for my age. I have been the youngest in both departments. I started teaching at 21 and am 23 now. Others have been of the same experience of me as well.

1st job - with another NQT. She was three years older than me and yet no jobs or responsibilities were advertised/shared. All the work went to her. I produced new resources, the kids loved me and shared new ideas in meetings. She was offered to mentor new teachers (something I said I definitely wanted to do!) and look at literacy.

So I moved.

2nd job - with an NQT and another member of staff with the same years experience as me. The other 'same experience' teacher has been offered to mentor two of the PGCE students we have and once again, I haven't even been approached. I am the only one in the department running after school clubs and aiding one of the seconds with literacy. I know positions will arise in the next few months as a KS3 coordinator or literacy but I am scared of being made a fool out of if I don't get them. Other people have said they wouldn't take 'orders' from someone much younger than them.

I look very young for my age and just wondering...does it get any easier?

2. minnie me

minnie me Star commenter