1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Newcomer - Questions about teaching abroad at International schools

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by cmalcayu, Oct 29, 2018.

1. cmalcayu

cmalcayu New commenter

Good evening Everyone! I am a newbie to this subject and appreciate any advice and answers you can help me with. My husband and I are thinking about looking into moving abroad in the next few years if we can find a good opportunity overseas at an international English speaking school.

I am in my 7th year of teaching primary school in North America (4 years in US and this is my 3rd year in Canada). I am a certified teacher here in Canada and the USA, with experience in both the public and charter school systems. I believe I have a strong resume and great references. My husband is an engineer/project manager with about 9 years of experience. We currently do not have any children.

We are most interested in looking for opportunities in SE Asia and Eastern Europe, but would definitely be open to other areas of the world as well. We would love to live in central Europe and teach there, however we realize those locations quite sought after. We are not looking to chase the highest salary and realize the cost of living in a city is a big part of the equation. As a result, we are not wanting to chase the most popular locations where the salaries are low (and cost of living is high). We are looking for a safe adventure, where we can travel extensively, live comfortably and save some money.