1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Newbie!

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by LucSki, May 2, 2012.

1. LucSki

LucSki New commenter

Hi all,
    Im new to the world of supply and not holding out much hope for a lot of work (from reading on here and the fact i'm in the North West) but just after some general info and advice about my situation.
    I have 2 agency interviews this week, one with a large supply agency and one with a childcare agency - this is so I can hopefully fill my weeks with a variety of work from being a 'proper' teacher to doing nursery assistant work for £6.50P/H!
    I also had a call from an independent school I interviewed with a month ago (and didnt get!) asking to go on thier supply books which I would love to do as I would hope a longer contract would come up.
    While all this is going on I am also applying to schools for permanant contracts starting in Septemeber.
    So my questions (which may sound stupid!):
    Am I self employed? I have a P45 from my last permanant post, Do I provide this to all the people and they sort out the tax etc themselves or do I need to figure this out?
    Do I let all parties know about each other? I would prioritise the Independent school over the others, shall I let them know?
    What happens if I supply somewhere anda job at that school comes up that I want to apply for? Ive read things about finders fees?! Shall I ask about this at interview?
    Any other advice would be super.
    Many thanks

2. LucSki

LucSki New commenter

Hi all,