1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New Year 7 Tutor group

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by bulky09, Jun 30, 2011.

1. Dear all,

I am gaining a new year 7 tutor group in September, and I was wondering if any one has any tips or pieces of advice to give me regarding this- e.g. activities to do with them, what information should let them know etc.

Thanks for any guidance

2. mpc

mpc

I work in a school with a vertical system now, but I usually set my Y7s some kind of quiz with questions about their new school. You can make it multiple choice if you want to be kind!

3. bigpedro

bigpedro New commenter

My advice in general is not to mollycoddle them if you can help it. Many of them will have a very babyish attitude and the quicker they grow up the better.
    This sounds awful but it works, I now have a fantastic relationship with my y7s and even the most childish ones in September now have a very mature approach to school. We are the top achieving form for behaviour, housepoints, attendance and report effort grades. I'll let you know about sports day next week [​IMG]
    Treat them like adults from the start and you'll reep the benefits later on.
    As for ice-breaker activities, I find that simply letting them sit in groups and talk to each other then visit each group in turn and guide their conversations so that they start to feel comfortable with each other. Once you find out a bit about everyone you can introduce them to each other subtley e.g. " Thats interesting, I was just talking to Jake about that. Hey Jake come here a minute, Matthew plays tennis too, do you know each other?"