1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New way of teaching???

Discussion in 'Personal' started by nasirrejon, Jun 3, 2018.

Tags:
?

How much would you be happy for a 15 minute session?

1. £1

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. £2

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. £5

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. £10

4 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. Hi Guys,

I am new to this blog. I have been teaching for a bit and tutoring on the side to pay the bills.... as you do.....

I have this recurring problem with a student that I tutor; he keeps rearranging his schedule or cancelling the entire session. This ruins my entire schedule for tutoring. I have contemplated quitting tutoring many times but I came up with an idea that I wanted to run past. Maybe its nothing new but it came to me to like an epiphany when he kept texting on his phone.

I thought about creating an app that basically uberises my tutoring. For example he asks me specific questions during our session or he'll WhatsApp me during the day, which I answer for free. So with the app, he would start the session by texting a specific question for Science (my subject) then he pays for a session for 10 / 15 mins. The real question would be how much would I charge a student for 10/15 mins? I would be happy with £2 that would pay for my lunch.

What does everyone think?

Thanks in advance to everyone!

2. rustyfeathers

rustyfeathers Occasional commenter

How much do you charge an hour? Base it on that

freckle06 and Lara mfl 05 like this.
  3. sbkrobson

sbkrobson Star commenter

Just quickly now before I answer properly, how much will you pay for my response in this thread?

4. neddyfonk

neddyfonk Lead commenter