1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New to tutoring - advice including rates please

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by CabbageWhite20, Apr 10, 2020.

1. CabbageWhite20

CabbageWhite20 Occasional commenter

I was wondering if I could get some advice from experienced tutors. I have been asked to take on some online tutoring for overseas students who are currently unable to return to their schools in the UK. The request has come through a school although the tutoring would be a private arrangement.
    I am an experienced teacher and actually know some of the pupils already. I would appreciate some advice on the rates tutors tend to charge. It would be English tuition and the pupils would be age 9-13 if that helps at all.
    Many thanks.

2. suzette

suzette Occasional commenter

Hi, there are a lot of experienced tutors on here that have pretty much answered your question in other posts on here (especially if it's related to Corona and tutoring), so it might be worth reading a few of the posts on here. Generally, there isn't a fixed rate. I've worked mine out based on some of the following: How much it costs for resources, how much I need to earn to live on, whether I am tutoring with a tutoring site that charges commission, even whether you pay a lot for your broadband (for online tutoring) and mobile phone charges can come into play. Some people charge £20, some charge £30, some more. It has to depend on you and your personal/financial circumstances. If you Google tutoring sites and search as if you were a potential client looking for tutoring, you can see what some people charge and how they post/promote themselves. I hope this helps. :)

3. bramblesarah