1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New to teaching full time English

Discussion in 'English' started by englishteach101, Nov 5, 2015.

1. englishteach101

englishteach101 Occasional commenter

Hi Guys and Girls,

I'm starting a new job in January as a full-time English teacher having only taught part of a timetable English before in conjunction with Drama and Music and I'm after some tips and advice from experienced English teachers.

What do you do to ensure you keep yourself organised without paperwork taking over your entire life? Top subject-specific tips for organisation, planning, marking and keeping your head above water would be great. I'm an experienced teacher, but inexperienced in full time English so I want to make sure I'm giving the best to my students and new school, but ensuring that I'm ok too.

Thanks in advance!

2. thethiefoftime

thethiefoftime Occasional commenter

@samharvey Ummm..... here are just some random tips off the top of my head:

To keep loose paper homework all in one place, get an expanding file and label each section with the name/code for each class.

To cut down on marking, make sure some of the homework you set is research, or finding a certain type of text and annotating it.

Another way to save marking, but make it more meaningful, is getting kids to highlight just two paragraphs.... one they are happy with and one they are least happy with... then just give feedback on those two.

Don't be ashamed to do a bit of peer-assessment or self-assessment, as long as you scaffold them appropriately with it. Ie. making it clear what you want them to look for/comment on.