1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New to supply - question about pay and income tax etc?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by Butterflychic, Apr 26, 2012.

1. Hi there
    I am new to supply, and registered with 3 agencies - no work so far
    How does tax and such work? Am I self employed? Bit confused! :s

2. PaulDG

PaulDG Occasional commenter

No, you're not self-employed.
    You're either emplolyed by the agency or, and this is becomming more common, you're employed by an "umbrella company".
    If your agency wants you to use an umbrella, they might only tell you that after you've done your first job for them. These organisations are paid gross by your agency, and deduct a "processing fee", tax, NI and employer's NI before paying you.
    The agency will have a pet umbrella company. I don't know but I expect they get a kick-back from using one.

3. jubilee

jubilee Star commenter

Have you filled out P46 forms with each employer?
    Did you register with agencies before 5th April 2012 and did you have a P45 from any previous employer in the last tax year?
    If you did have a P45, the employer you passed it onto would be the one thta operates your taxcode (the amount you can earn tax free each financial year).
    The other agencies would tax all your earnings on BR (Basic Rate) otherwise known as Emergency Tax (20%). That is correct taxation if, by the end of the tax year in 2013, you have earned your full tax-free allowance with the main employer. The tax-free allowance is around £7500 per year with a tax code of 745 or similar.