1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New to private tutoring - some advice needed please

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by takethatno1fan, Jul 21, 2011.

1. takethatno1fan

takethatno1fan New commenter

Hi,
    I have been teaching for 7 years and have recently started tutoring just to supplement my income. I was really lucky as I put an advert on the web on one of the tutoring websites and within 3 weeks had picked up 4 children so there's obviously a demand in my area.
    I think I'm off to a good start; went to visit each family first as an introduction, discussed my 'terms' informally, showed them my CRB certificate/teaching qualifications, chatted to the child etc etc. All good for now.
    To be honest, it still feels very strange actually taking money and feeling that you are 'working' for the parents if you know what I mean, but I'm sure I'll get used to that.
    Anyway, one of the children I've started to tutor I met for the first time on Monday. He is a 10 year old struggling with his maths and he just did not want me there. He didn't want to talk to me, put his head on the table and it was the longest hour of my life. I'd taken a board game to play where he had to answer a maths question if he landed on a certain colour and every time he didn't know an answer he would just shrug and put the card back down. I managed to find out enough about him to be able to plan some work on basic maths but I still need to find out much more about his difficulties. I had a chat with dad at the end and explained he had been quite difficult as his confidence in maths was obviously very low. I just felt quite sorry for the child as I feel he has been forced into having a tutor.