1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New to Nursery!

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by sea232, Jun 22, 2011.

1. Hi everyone,
    I've just found out that I'll be teaching in Nursery next year. Having only taught in KS1 and KS2 I am excited about the challenge, however the realisation has hit that I have no experience of this age group and honestly know little to nothing about nursery. I don't think I've even actually been in our nursery - unless I've needed to borrow some toy trucks or something. I don't have a clue how planning works in EYFS either. So I'm cluelessly looking forward to it. Could anyone give me some advice, tips, a basic rundown of what I need to do to get my head around this by September. Been looking at EYFS on the strategies site but not coming up with any concrete advice - I'm seeing lots of play but I'm still unsure how this would translate into planning? Help!

2. anyone? please? [​IMG]

3. Hi there,
    I'm not sure that I'm going to be a Huge help as I am a supply teacher and have only done a few shifts in nursery. Congratulations on the job though! The schools that I have been to set out different 'play' stations such as play dough, sand, water, drawing/writing, puzzles and the children after a story or some other activity choose what they would like to do. Certain topics are covered which would then try to relate to the activities - such as movement...making kites, reading story on how different animals move etc. I'm not sure about assessments and planning?! Good luck

4. Thanks for the help - hopefully i'll pick up some more ideas soon!