1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New to EYFS, Help!!

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by BrionyWhite1, May 22, 2018.

1. BrionyWhite1

BrionyWhite1 New commenter

Hello
    So I am currently in my third year of teaching and have spent these years in yr 3/4.
    I have just secured a new job in reception which i am so excited about, however slightly daunted by the idea!

My new head wants a complete new EYFS with classroom and approach if needs be.
    My question is, where on earth do I start?! What approach do i go with? What furniture do i need? What are non-negotiables? What works well in your classrooms?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Thank you!

2. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

WOWOW!
    I've spent the last three years in year 3 and am moving to nursery in September.
    However I also have a total of 20 something years of teaching...though none in EYFS.

Goodness a whole lot of new furniture as well as approach and room! lucky but scary.
    Look on pintrest and someFB groups for classrooms.
    Anna Ephgrave appears to be the woman of the moment and ABCdoes seems to have a fab approach. (Not that I know anything much yet!)

There are a few threads on here lately about people moving from LKS2 to EYFS...must be the year for it.

Are you nearly as super excited as me?
    ;):):D:);)

Pomza likes this.
  3. Pomza

Pomza Star commenter

Just read her book on Reception - OP should check it out for some ideas...

4. Pomza

Pomza Star commenter

That's quite a change - Enjoy!:)

5. grumbleweed

grumbleweed Lead commenter