1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New to controlled Assessments - Advice, plese

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by musiclover1, Nov 22, 2011.

1. musiclover1

musiclover1 New commenter

I'm new to Controlled Assessments - here are my questions:
    The pupils are allowed to prepare stuff in the lessons during 'stage 2', but they're not allowed to take this home to learn it. And they're allowed to prepare stuff at home, but they're not allowed to take this into school. Have I understood this correctly? It doesn't make a lot of sense.
    How much lesson time would you invest in 'stage 2'? I don't want to lose too much valuable teaching time, but of course I'd like them to do well in the CA.
    How many CA's do you do over the 2 years of the GCSE course? I'm trying to do 4 a year (2 for each skill), but I don't know if I'm over-doing it and rushing them too much.

2. LadyPsyche

LadyPsyche New commenter

You have understood this correctly. It makes no sense at all. Grrr. We spend 4 hrs 20 mins on stage 2 as we cannot afford to lose any more than two weeks of lessons + writing up time on top of that - or speaking tests taking us off time-table for a day at a time. Drives me mad!! Especially when they're away and I have to make up the lost time for them after school...
    We're just doing the 4 CAs that are required for the GCSE - can't afford to miss more teaching than that. 4 CAs even with only 4 hours stage two is a whole term's work for us. (Spring term is always very short!) We have exams twice a year, so allow them to do mini tasks as part of their exams so they get used to the idea of preparing in advance and memorising.

3. noemie

noemie Occasional commenter