1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New to CIE A-level history.

Discussion in 'History' started by matryoshkadoll, Feb 28, 2017.

1. matryoshkadoll

matryoshkadoll Occasional commenter

Hi there
    I am teaching at a small international school in Spain that is quite new. In September we will be running the history option for the first time. (We only opened up to year 12s in September '16) As I am new to the A-level, I could do with some tips on resources. I have already scoured schoolhistory.co.uk's forum and nothing really being said.

I have looked at the syllabus, and I am planning on doing the International option for components 1, 2 & 4 and then the European (Holocaust) option for component 3. For component 4, I plan to do the first two units on the Cold War.

So far, I am looking at for component 1 and 2:
    Wadsworth (2013). Cambridge International AS Level International History 1871-1945. ISBN 9781107613232

For Component 3:
    Farmer, A (2009). Access to History: Anti-Semitism and the Holocaust ISBN 9780340984963

Hilberg, Raul (1993). Perpetrators Victims Bystanders: The Jewish Catastrophe, 1933-1945 ISBN 9780060995072 (Teacher Copy only)

Neville, P (1999). The Holocaust. Cambridge University Press. ISBN 9780521595018

However, I am a little confused on Component 4
    I have found

Murphy, D and Morris, T. (2008). International Relations, 1879–2004. ISBN 9780007268719
    and
    McCauley, M. (2013). Russia, America and the Cold War, 1949–1991. ISBN 9781405874304
    and
    Dockrill, M L, and Hopkins, M F. (2005). The Cold War 1945-1991. ISBN 9781403933386