1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New Teaching Career Direction?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by missdwilson, Apr 25, 2016.

?

What's the best teaching situation?

1. Permanent

6 vote(s)
    66.7%
  2. Temporary/Short-term

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Daily Supply

2 vote(s)
    22.2%
  4. Private School

3 vote(s)
    33.3%
  5. Academy

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. Primary

2 vote(s)
    22.2%
  7. Secondary

3 vote(s)
    33.3%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. missdwilson

missdwilson New commenter

Hello,
    I'm a Canadian Teacher in my second year of teaching in the UK.
    I teach Maths and Science and I've been with 2 secondary schools in 2 years now and want a break!
    I was thinking of doing Daily Supply work. I know it can be rough doing supply work, but I want less responsibility and still need work. I'd consider getting a permanent or temporary contract with a school after supplying with them for a while.
    All tips and advice are appreciated!
    Thanks!
    Danielle (-:

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

My suggestion is that you scroll down the forums list and read on the Supply forum to get more information.

Best wishes

3. dominant_tonic

dominant_tonic Established commenter

Seems like a plan, apart the likelihood of it. I have done, 2 maternity covers, one 6 months one a bit longer, and 3 long term sick cover placements. They totalled nearly 3 academic years. Did not get one permanent or temporary contract out of them.

Only now, do I stand a chance of a contract, but only because the school had a unique set of circumstances that I have not come across before, and is unusual, but they found themselves with a vacancy in a strange way.