1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New school/Stress/Help

Discussion in 'Personal' started by leannebloor17, Sep 17, 2019.

1. leannebloor17

leannebloor17 New commenter

Hi everyone,

First time poster here looking for some advice please.
    I am an FS teacher and have been for 10 years now at a school I loved. An opportunity came up at a local school for FS lead in the summer and went for it ans got the job. Initally the school were very up for change and basically wanted me to come in and change it to more child led and better continuous provision etc
    I spent most of the summer setting up my classroom and getting to know the other fs teacher all seemed well. However since the children started 3 weeks ago , it has rapidly gone down hill. They are very young, some with significant behvaiour issues, we have had 3 serious injures (1 for example a child had used a log to knock another child on the head and the child was knocked out completely) I have brought up with slt who said they have no money for extra staff that i have asked for. We have 4 adults to 60 children which i know is normal but i think given the needs of the cohort we should have more staff.
    This combined with working a lot more hours (the directed hours we are working is over what a teacher should be contracted to) plus 2 meetings and 1 briefing a week. I alsp get honework to do from middle leaders meetings. Im being given jobs to do without having any leader time and am using ppa time for such jobs which meand i am behind on other things i need to do as a normal teacher.