1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New school and never taught creative curriculum - 'Superheroes' topic - year 4/5...any ideas??

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Miss_Al, Aug 18, 2010.

1. Hi everyone, I'm pretty new here. I posted a while back on a similar sort of topic, but at the time didn't know what my class topic was going to be, so was advised to re-post when I knew what my topic was to be.
    Anyway, I'm starting a new school in Sept, which seems to be the polar opposite of my old school! One of the differences is that they run a creative curriculum at my new school, which I've never done before so it's all a bit new and I'm not used to thinking too creatively yet, as my old school was very subject-based and followed the NC guidelines to a T.
    The school has shown me how to plan etc and link to NC to make sure we're covering what we need to be. They have a 'skills progression' ladder for each year for Hist, Geog, Art, Music and DT. PE, ICT, RE and Science are based loosely on QCA progression guidance, and Lit and Num coverage is a bit more complicated (still getting my head around this 1!).
    Basically, I should take the half-term topic of 'superheroes' and break it down into weeks (obviously normally about 6 for the half term). Each week, have a different 'sub-theme' to focus on. I've thought of one or two possibilties, including looking at real-life superheroes one week, such as firemen (any other ideas on this) or a PARTICULAR person who's a real-life superhero. A possibility of linking history to this if it's someone from the past...?