1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New RESPECT programme - trials needed?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by suzielou1987, Aug 13, 2011.

1. Hi all,
    I'm a Y6 teacher and PSHCE coordinator in a large Junior school in Surrey. Probably like most on here, I was horrified at the rioting and looting that took place in many of our cities this week. I expressed disgust with friends at the actions of so many young people. It was incredibly easy to sit there and pass blame on their parents and secondary schools. I then was watching a news programme with a secondary school head on who passed comment that actually, the respect for authority and basic responsibilities should be taught in our primary schools. This got me thinking.
    I talked with colleagues and we realised some home truths. In the last academic year we have gone on and on in the staffroom about the lack of respect that pupils have given us - mainly low level granted - but disrespect nonetheless. Also in complete inability to take responsibility for their own actions. During the last academic year, this was simply staffroom fodder, but having seen the appaulling actions of some young people last week, I felt compelled to do something, as did many of our staff.
    I have written a school wide programme (which i've originally named the 'RESPECT' programme) which aims to take the teaching of respect and responsibility back to basics in school. It includes a 6 week PSHCE lesson plan format for Years 3-6, a letter to parents, a new home-school behaviour agreement, 6 week's worth of assembly ideas and a implementation powerpoint to show to staff. As we are a CE school, we have also highlighted the Christian element of respect in the assemblies.