1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New job worries

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by mooseman444, Jun 2, 2020.

1. mooseman444

mooseman444 New commenter

Hello everyone.

I applied for and was offered a new job in an independent school last February before this virus thing started. I accepted the offer after receving the offer letter but have yet to receive a contract or further details etc.

What worries me is this: I need to find somewhere to live nearby and was hoping to get on the property ladder by buying a small house rather than renting but I don't know if this job is really going ahead or not. I'm relatively new to teaching (I'm currently an NQT in a secondary state school) and am not clued up on whether independent schools can rescind job offers because they might have fewer pupils come September for example (the school is relatively small with only a few hundred pupils).

Is it risky to buy a house now and get a mortgage etc?

I texted the head a month ago and he assured me I will be needed but I'm still not comfortable.

Please help!

2. steely1

steely1 Occasional commenter

Is it possible that some of the school's admin / personnel staff have been furloughed, so you may not have received the full contract yet?

I do appreciate how unsettling it must be, not to have received it yet. I also appreciate the context of this being a small independent school - but you have the offer letter and the Head's word (which, I think, technically speaking, is a verbal contract), so I'd be shocked / surprised if the offer was rescinded.