1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New Job working in Year 2

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by EmnaKarim, Jul 12, 2015.

1. Hey,

I have been working within the Early Years for about 4 years. I have a new job in september and will be working as a 1:1 assistant in Year 2 with a boy who has ASD. Any advice as to information I could read or research to help me prepare.

2. Saland45

Saland45 New commenter

Hi... If he isn't new to the school I would find out as much as possible about him from his current teacher/ or LSA.. If you are not familiar with ASD then go on the national autistic website and there are loads of things on there which will help you learn. If you are looking for resources *** have a lot now of specific resources relating to autism, work station activities and so on.. In my experience just like everyone ASD is not the same in each child, it affects differently but some things will cross over.. I have always found that children get have a lot of anxiety so I found sensory toy good for things like carpet time, big groups, situations that can potentially overwhelm....it is a fascinating area to work in.. Good luck x

3. stargirl81

stargirl81 New commenter

Ooohh how exciting to be having a change! AS Saland45 said you need to speak to his current LSA and teacher or if he is new to the school you need his report and plan from your SENCO (which hopefully would of been passed on..)