1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New job no money until...

Discussion in 'NQTs and new teachers' started by flowergirl62, Nov 5, 2011.

1. Hi I have just secured a permanent position in a lovely school where I was supplying until Christmas.
    Fortunately, for me, the position became available and after an interview with a few others I was offered the position.

I am really pleased as I had been supplying for three years and my induction was incomplete.

My problem is that I now find my contract started immediately on the 30th of October, I have no money as it was half term and there was no pay from the agency during the holiday and I will not get any money from the agency as I am now on contract. I have no way of supporting myself until the last Friday of the month.

Can I ask the school to give me an advance or do I sign on? I am stuck with bank charges going into my account everyday that I am overdrawn and will end up with no money when my wages do go into my account because of this and the cycle will begin all over again, living on my overdraft.

Has anyone been in this position before, it's a long time to work without any money. I am desperate.

All advice welcome.

2. Hi I have just secured a permanent position in a lovely school where I was supplying until Christmas.
    Fortunately, for me, the position became available and after an interview with a few others I was offered the position.

I am really pleased as I had been supplying for three years and my induction was incomplete.