1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New Job and pregnant

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by nicola7521, Aug 13, 2019.

1. nicola7521

nicola7521 New commenter

Hello,

I am new to TES and using forums however I'm hoping that someone can offer me some guidance/support.

I am due to start my new role as curriculum support at a secondary school this September which I am absolutely ecstatic about. However, having recently qualified as level 3 teaching and support in schools this will be my first fulltime role in a school as my current role is a training officer.

This is my situation, since being told I was successful in the role I discovered I am pregnant with my second child! I am obviously thrilled however feeling absolutely ill at the thought of starting a new role to then have to go on maternity leave 5 months later. To make matters worse I found out this news during the 6 weeks holidays and haven't had the opportunity to discuss it with anyone face to face. I have emailed the schools Senco whom I will be reporting too and she replied a very lovely email congratulating me, she also advised to inform the deputy head once I was ready too. I have done this but haven't received a reply, I would imagine she is on holiday or rightly so just not looking at her work mail during the holidays.

I guess I just want to know if anyone has been in similar position or can advice anything which might make me feel better about my situation.

Thank you for reading :)

Nic

2. Lalad

Lalad Star commenter