1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New HoD 2011-2012

Discussion in 'Heads of department' started by chris_martin, Aug 4, 2011.

1. chris_martin

chris_martin New commenter

Hey everyone,
    I have been teaching for 3 years now and I have been successful in getting a new position as Head of Languages in a fairly large inner city school.
    I am really nervous about starting. Any tips for a budding HoD?
    Many thanks, merci beaucoup!

2. chris_martin

Hey everyone,
    I have been teaching for 3 years now and I have been successful in getting a new position as Head of Languages in a fairly large inner city school.
    I am really nervous about starting. Any tips for a budding HoD?
    Many thanks, merci beaucoup!

3. henriette

henriette New commenter

Take time to see what is/isn't working in the Dept before making any radical changes.
    Read the SoW carefully and find out whether the dept is actually following it.
    Ask the team for their ideas and be approachable.
    Check what SLT attitude to Ebac is before going for it with all guns blazing (mine are ambivalent) as options are often more pleasant to teach than core subjects.

Good luck
    H
    (MFL teacher 20+ yrs; HoD 5 yrs)

4. chris_martin

Thanks Henriette, I appreciate that!

5. trinity0097

trinity0097 New commenter

I've been a HOD for the last year, I spent most of that year getting to know the dept schemes, the strengths and weaknesses, knowing the school and it's routines etc... This summer I am re-writing a new SOW for all 6 year groups to implement changes I found were necessary to improve things, but I couldn't have done that without knowing the school first.