1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

new deputy - big regrets. Should I step away?

Discussion in 'Senior Leadership Team' started by afewgoodmen, Feb 18, 2012.

1. I am new to being a deputy at a big primary. I have no teaching responsibility. Before this I was AHT with half a class responsibility. I found it hard work at first but feel that I've 'cracked it' now in that I have a handle on what I'm doing and I think I'm doing a good job - feedback from staff and my HT is very good.
    But my heart is just not in it. The hours are longer than I imagined and I have no life outside of being at school anymore - in the evenings I arrive home late, cook, eat and go to bed. At the weekends I have to make sure I don't get too tired by staying up late / driving too much etc. as I worry I won't be able to cope with the week if I do. I don't take work home, I never did as a teacher and I don't now, but I do work very long hours and although I'm not physically working at home my mind is!
    I miss the classroom teaching enormously and although I know I'm helping the teachers in the school I miss being with the children. I know my HT would be horribly disappointed (possibly angry) if I told her how I was feeling and I suspect she'd write me off. If I apply for other jobs I will feel terribly and am worried that no school would want me as I'd be taking step 'backwards' which might be viewed with suspicion.
    I am dreadfully unhappy though. I'm exhausted and the thought of keeping doing this has ruined my half term. Has anyone else been in the same boat and made it work / moved on?

2. Hi