1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

New controlled assessments - barcode task in Python

Discussion in 'Computing and ICT' started by Computing101, Jul 10, 2015.

1. I'm one of the fustrated teachers who is expected to suddenly know how to programme when my background is ICT.

I've spent a fair few months learning python and have what I feel is a good understanding of it. I then tried the new controlled assessment tasks on interchange for the new Year 10s in September. The troubleshooting one started off easy and ended up a nightmare of loops. I then moved on to the barcode one which so far seems much simpler. I *think* I have a working solution which I obviously won't put on here as to break exam regulations but I wonder if someone can give me an INCORRECT GTIN to test my program with as every number seems to be a valid one (even when I calculate it manually). Granted...I may be doing something daft! They all seem to be a multiple of 10 when doing the validity checks.

2. larathegiraffe

larathegiraffe New commenter

It's always useful to check the Student Room regularly, identify the useful Yahoo groups and then use the forums in the dark web. You can express indignation, shock and outrage at answers to controlled assessment problems being openly available, as you check through their solutions to see where you went wrong ....

3. moscowbore

moscowbore Star commenter

You "think" you have a working solution. Sorry mate, you really should not be doing this. Go back to your management and ask for proper training.

4. colwynexile

colwynexile Occasional commenter