1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

negotiating salary when offered job?

Discussion in 'Independent' started by Corrina_N, Mar 17, 2016.

1. Corrina_N

Corrina_N New commenter

Hello everyone!

I am relatively new to the world of secondary education teaching. I have applied to a number of independent schools and currently waiting to hear from an interview.

I have a QTS (not a PGCE; I gained my QTS through the EU recognition route) and a PhD with 3 year experience of higher education teaching. At a recent interview I was told that if I were offered the position I would start from point 3, rather than 1, as a recognition of my postgraduate qualifications. Unfortunately, I was not offered that position, but I was wondering if it is considered appropriate to negotiate a similar deal if offered a position. I don't want to come across as rude, but I also feel that I should try, as it would be a small recognition of the years I've put into further education.

Thanks a lot in advance for your suggestions!

2. sabrinakat

sabrinakat Star commenter

I was offered point 4 at my independent with a PhD (no PGCE) and it's my second full year of teaching secondary. My school does respect postgraduate qualifications.... (I had 4 years higher education teaching and 6 years EFL, before deciding I wanted to teach my subject (jobs in higher education are very tough to get)....it doesn't hurt to ask....

3. Corrina_N

Corrina_N New commenter

Hey sabrinakat!