1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Negotiating NQT salary above MP1

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by elizabeth1972, May 31, 2010.

1. I'm looking for a job for September, as an NQT. Finger crossed....
    I'm wondering, at what stage would it be appropriate to try and negotiate a starting salary above MP1? I'm a mature student, with years of TA and other school experience, I have a first class degree in Education and have almost completed my MA in Education (I'll finish it during my NQT year if I'm fortunate enough to get a job for September).
    Would it be appropriate to try and negotiate? If so, when do I try and negotiate, and how?
    Thanks!

2. I'm looking for a job for September, as an NQT. Finger crossed....
    I'm wondering, at what stage would it be appropriate to try and negotiate a starting salary above MP1? I'm a mature student, with years of TA and other school experience, I have a first class degree in Education and have almost completed my MA in Education (I'll finish it during my NQT year if I'm fortunate enough to get a job for September).
    Would it be appropriate to try and negotiate? If so, when do I try and negotiate, and how?
    Thanks!

3. Probably not the way I did it. I didn't discuss it at interview - and I think that's right.