1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Needto leave the job and wanting to know the consequences. Help please!

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by Alice300, Oct 7, 2015.

1. Alice300

Alice300 New commenter

Hi,

my case is the following one: I am a foreign class teacher in an English school, I have been in England for two years and really happy in my post. However, due to personal and family circumstances, I feel forced to go back to my country, but I would like to finish in the best terms with my school as possible. If I want to leave in Christmas, would it be any problem if I resign next week? In the case that I would like to go back to England to teach (something that I plan to do if possible when my personal situation improves), should I expect a good reference from my school? (right now, due to observations and comments, I really think that my headteacher is happy with my work. That's what I fear; spoiling his opinion if I resign in the middle of the academical year and erasing my possibilities of working back again in England as a teacher due to a bad reference).

Thank you so much in advance!

2. DaisysLot

DaisysLot Senior commenter

You can resign by the end of October to be released formerly with no issue the end of December.

3. Middlemarch

Middlemarch Star commenter

No-one can tell you what sort of reference you might get, I'm afraid - this is because we don't know you and we're not the person who will write it.

4. Morninglover

Morninglover Star commenter