1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Needing advice!

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by gruffalo4, Nov 10, 2019.

1. gruffalo4

gruffalo4 New commenter

Help! I’m currently in my 2nd year of teaching and I’m not sure what to do...

I was really looking forward to starting back this year as I feel more confident in my ability, better knowledge of my year group, like the people I work with etc.

However, school moral is at an all time low. Since starting back, we have been continually monitored via observations, learning walks, book scrutinies and it is never ending. Ofsted are due back imminently (currently RI) and the pressure is huge. I have taken on two subjects this year and trying to juggle that, on top of my usual workload is hard going. Not to mention the prep for ‘deep dives’.

There have been a handful of people coming in who continuously pick fault with every little detail. Ideas conflict and it seems like you can never do anything right. No positivity ever comes from feedback, just negatives and I just dread the next time they come back in. I’m happy to work on feedback to ensure I’m getting better but these experiences have been draining and demotivating. Everyone is working so hard but it’s just not enough.

I love teaching but I’m really not enjoying this year. After another learning walk and book scrutiny last week, I broke down on my way home from work and couldn’t stop. This is so out of character for me which is now why I’m thinking that something isn’t right.

Should I just try and stick it out? Or look for another job? Leave teaching all together? I feel so lost and not sure what to do. I haven’t spoken to anybody at school about how I’m feeling.