1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Need some community advice!!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by bristle82, Jul 4, 2011.

1. I have been a year 5 teacher since I started 3 1/2 years ago as an NQT. I was informed today that as of September I will be moving to Year 2! The class has a lot of behavioural issues, they haven't had a permanent teacher for the whole of Y1 and there is a high number of Polish children in the class who speak Polish to one another, even though they can speak English.

I need some help, support, advice or ANYTHING! I am a little overwhelmed at this short notice!!

2. I studied linguistics and my personal view would be to relax a bit about another language being used amongst the children. As they move through the school and have lived here longer they will probably drop this, but for now it's probably making them feel their identity is shared with others and not frowned upon. When addressed in English they will automatically reply in English, and should only be chatting at appropriate times anyway. Insist on English for certain tasks in which language is key, and I would separate the Polish children if that didn't work. I personally like to encourage bilingualism in children. I'd definitely use their skill in some way, perhaps getting the children to teach the rest of us a few words in Polish and share their culture with the class. It's important to value children for who they are and where they come from. No need to squeeze this out of them, they have lots to be proud of and to teach English children, just as English children can teach them.

3. Cervinia

Cervinia Occasional commenter

Sorry, but that sounds absurd.