1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Need some advice re location!

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by els26, Nov 13, 2018.

1. els26

els26 New commenter

Hi everyone
    I’m in need of some advice and I’m getting confused and overwhelmed by all the different websites I have visited so I’m hoping i can get some answers from people experiencing these things first hand!
    I’m a primary school teacher with 8 years experience and recently me and my husband have decided to take the leap and work abroad for a few years. Our primary motivation is money as we are thinking about our future and financial stability for our children,but of course the experience is extremely important and I want all of us to get the most we can out of it.
    We were originally looking at Abu Dhabi given the tax free salaries and attractive packages,but have since found out that because my bachelors degree is in law,we may struggle to get a work visa.
    So we are broadening our search,and despite the attractive packages in China,I am drawn to south east Asia just because that part of the world looks so beautiful. I’ve been looking into Phuket,Thailand and Penang,Malaysia. From what I can gather,certain international schools in both these places pay salaries that allow for a decent saving to be made. However,my research so far suggests that the cost of living in both these places is increasing. I suppose my questions are these:

Am I being foolish in ignoring China as a possibility because of my longing for a beautiful warm country,or are there parts of China that are not all skyscrapers and traffic but that still offer great packages?

Are Phuket and Penang viable options in terms of savings?