1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Need help wording an appraisal target - Can you help?

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by brewer86, Nov 5, 2017.

1. brewer86

brewer86 New commenter

Hi all,

Through an hilarious series of errors, my PM appraiser and I didn't get a chance to meet before HT and we're struggling to find time to do it now before school is demanding the targets in. As such, I'm trying to write my own with email feedback, but I'm having a little difficulty as its my first time writing targets that are UPS appropriate (read whole department) rather than for my individual teaching that I've been used to as a main scale teacher. Can any one help me with potential wording/evidence/outcomes?

My target (and we both agree that within the confines of the schools needs) is to work on pushing our HPA in KS4. In terms of whole school this is good, because our top end didn't quite do as well as we'd have liked last year in the new GCSEs (I'm maths by the way), and I've picked up my first top set Y10 group that I will (unless the plans change) be taking through to Y11, and we want to obviously push them as hard as we can. I've had foundation in the new GCSE before, and higher groups on the old spec, and I've been teaching KS5 groups for maths and further maths for years, but never top set Y10/11 and definitely not on the new specs, so the target is kind of intended to improve my own teaching, and help with outcomes of the whole department.

In terms of what I've written as my target I have the following: