1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Need help regarding vocabulary displayed in areas of learning

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by em1981, Aug 21, 2011.

1. Hi all
    I am new to UFS this year and one of the things that we are trying to improve on is the vocabulary in the areas of learning for the children. Can anyone help me and suggest what I can place in these areas that will help the children and not just be there for the sake of it?!
    Thanks [​IMG]

2. Hi all
    I am new to UFS this year and one of the things that we are trying to improve on is the vocabulary in the areas of learning for the children. Can anyone help me and suggest what I can place in these areas that will help the children and not just be there for the sake of it?!
    Thanks [​IMG]

3. Msz

Msz Established commenter

Do you mean for the children or for adults?
    Remember the children probably won't be able to read what you put in the areas so you will need to model vocabulary through speaking and listening not through displaying written words.

4. Thanks for your response. One of the things we were asked to improve on in our monitoring visit was the way we displayed vocabulary especially in Maths and English. I am struggling with what to do display wise as I know the children will not be ble to read words. I have been trying to look for ideas for displays that might inspire me! We have CP provision posters for adults in the areas.