1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Need help from someone techie, about buying a laptop

Discussion in 'Welcome lounge and forum help' started by andrewphipps, Jun 5, 2019.

1. andrewphipps

andrewphipps New commenter

Hi All
    I am a primary supply teacher, a lot of schools I go to now have individual laptops for teachers, so when I walk in they walk out with the laptop. leaving me with an interactive board and no way to use it.
    My question is this, can you guide me toward a suitable laptop for me to use.
    I want it to have;
    windows.
    Microsoft Office, word, excel, powerpoint etc.
    can connect to the internet through sim card and wireless.
    will store my resources and lessons.
    ports for memory sticks and ports for plugging in boards.
    Not expensive!!!!
    Thanks in advance for what may be a case of opening a can of worms.
    Andy Phipps
    P.S. I am 59 dont blow my mind with tech speak.o_O

2. blazer

blazer Star commenter

Try a secondhand one to see how you go.

EmanuelShadrack and andrewphipps like this.
  3. diddydave

diddydave Occasional commenter

I'd be tempted to ask them for a laptop but have a good supply of board markers (but no whiteboard cleaner) in case they refuse. The pupils will probably love being interactive with them...

Seriously though, most 'interactive' boards need their own software for the interactivity part to work otherwise it's just a projector so you could easily be in much the same position of not being able to use them to their fullest even with your own laptop. Most laptops have output capabilities though some will no longer have the older connections. Look for VGA out, HDMI out as these tend to be the most common.