1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Need Assistance w/ Job Search and the Entire Process

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Unconventional33, Sep 7, 2019.

1. Unconventional33

Unconventional33 New commenter

***Posted this elsewhere, but thought I'd give it a try here as well**

Hello Everyone,

I am new to international teaching, I had a very brief experience a few years ago where I applied directly to a school, interviewed with the principal (some hiccups with skype call), he followed up with my principal at the time, checked references - but the director had someone else in mind for the position (as per our conversation on Skype, but he would let me know) and I don't believe my principal at the time was too keen on letting me go. Anyway, I am looking into teaching specifically in Portugal. I am not in it to make a lot of money (I am aware Europe is not the place to do so based on a few comments I have read on the site). The reason I am choosing Portugal is related to family, moving closer, familiarity with language and culture, and just really wanting to live there.

I have 6 years of teaching experience and I am currently on my 7th year of teaching Language Arts in middle school. My classroom experience has been 1-year Bilingual (English/Spanish) language arts teacher as part of an 18-month dual Masters/teaching program, 3 years 6th and 7th grade language arts teacher, and most currently 2 years of just 6th grade ELA.