1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Need advice on my class being nice

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by SUgar1, Feb 18, 2011.

1. I am a 2nd year teacher with a year 4 class. Last year my class were practically perfect! Of course I look back with rose tinted glasses as they were my first class. They were lovely though and so well behaved.

This is long and rambling but I need some advice please.

This year it is a whole different story. I have lots of children that are simply nasty to some of the others. I have one boy who is rambunctious and the other children pick on him for this. He struggles to control his behaviour and does do some things to hurt the other children. The other children then over react and really hurt him.

My problem is, as much as I bang on about being nice to each other, making sure everyone is included in games and accepting some of the differences between themselves they just cannot do it. I had a few parents raise some names yesterday and some issues that have not been brought to my attention. I have also just found out that the children are not talking to me when problems happen. It is very upsetting to hear some of the things that are happening. My HT has spoken to several boys and the whole class as I am now at my wits end and really have no idea what to do about it.