1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Need Advice!- Considering Becoming a Spanish Teacher

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by msluca16, Jun 8, 2012.

1. Hi everyone,
    I am a college student in the United States. I'm engaged to someone who is from England and will be moving there when I graduate. I'm considering becoming a Spanish teacher, but from my research, it seems that finding a teaching job in England is extremely difficult. I will be living in Whistable and will be close enough to Canterbury, which I understand has a lot of schools.
    In the United States, language teachers usually specialize in one language only (especially in junior highs and high schools). In England, do MFL teachers HAVE to teach two languages? Would Spanish by sufficient to be able to land a teaching job?
    I also understand that I would not be considered a "qualified" teacher yet and that obtaining that status is not always easy. I've become a bit discouraged from what I've read on these boards regarding this, but I really see myself as a teacher and nothing else.
    I would really like the advice and feedback of teachers who are living in England and know the situation. Would I stand a change of finding a job if Spanish is the only language I teach? Is it worth the struggle that it takes to become a qualified teacher? I originally wanted to be an Art teacher, but after researching this more, it seems like landing a job as an art teacher would be even more difficult.
    I really look forward to reading your responses. Thank you so much in advance!

2. henriette

henriette New commenter

1) Yes - you can easily get a job with just Spanish - there is a shortage!