1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Need a way to last four more years...

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by 2020K, Sep 19, 2020.

1. 2020K

2020K New commenter

I am a very experienced science teacher and lead a subject within a STEM team.

Our school had a new HT appointed in September 2018 and since then the workplace has become miserable. During lockdown, our Head of Sciences jumped ship and joined a school where our former Deputy Head is now HT. He has taken three of our staff with him, including one from my subject. They were effectively bullied out of their posts, to the extent that one resigned after the cut off and has taken a one year maternity cover post.

Being close to retirement, I was not expecting to be "poached" and I am very happy for the escapees as they are now in a good school with a very competent Head of Sciences and a gentleman for a HT.

We now have the added issue of a staff shortage both in the Sciences and in the wider STEM team (as well as across the school I think but everyone has retreated into their shells so I am not sure what is going on).

We were told in July that we had replacements, this has either not materialised or the replacements who arrived have went off sick. I doubt we will see one of the girls again. We are four staff down in sciences and the temporary Head of Sciences is sinking and lacks the experience to share the load.