1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Need a bit of support or advice

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by dark star, Mar 24, 2019.

1. dark star

dark star New commenter

I’ve been tutoring English for 13 years. I have good qualifications, good results, a good reputation and a decent waiting list. I’ve never had to advertise but have always gone by word of mouth. I charged £25 per lesson, paid after the lesson in cash for the last 10 years.

Anyway, I ended up having a very bad patch last summer where several families with multiple children all took three months off ( private school holidays plus a bit at either end) and expected me to just keep the spaces vacant until they came back. The loss was huge when combined with people taking as many as one in four lessons off when it suited them over the year. I had a very bad summer. I was skint and couldn’t afford to do anything with my own kids while these families were off in Dubai all summer.

So, I decided to change my policy. £110 per month for 48 lessons per year with me having four weeks off. And you pay whether you take the lesson or not.