1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NC levels and P levels

Discussion in 'Primary' started by lost_in_translation, Feb 15, 2009.

1. As an NQT in a mixed R/1 class I am still learning lots of stuff about levelling etc. I have recently done some assessed writing work with the class - they wrote a story independently and I am now levelling their work. I have 2 year 1 children who have come out as still working at Foundation Stage level and I was just wondering when the decision is made to give children 'P levels' and what this means for the children. They are both young - one is a boy with a May birthday, the other is a late August born girl who is also a looked after child (in the process of being adopted currently - so clearly has other issues she is dealing with including transitions at home and school - she only came to us in November). Can anyone hlep me? Bit overhwelmed by it all! Thanks x

2. I use foundation stage levels up till christmas then move on to p-scales for those children who haven't reached NC levels. So I am now levelling using either p-scales or NC levels.

3. As I understand it the children who are nt achieving a 1c in year 1 are given a w (working towards). P levels are only used with SEN children, however this could just be in my school

4. Honey Loop

Honey Loop New commenter

Just had training on this, and the 'new' thinking is that come the Spring term, children working below year 1 expectations (1c) should be assessed using the p-scales. W's should only be used for children with EAL whose language is a barrier to learning.