1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

National Strategy - Year 4 Unit to Year 6

Discussion in 'Primary' started by nadeemshaikhuk, Mar 13, 2011.

1. nadeemshaikhuk

nadeemshaikhuk New commenter

Hi,

I am a trainee teacher and I carried out a numeracy lesson for Year 6 (low ability group) on doubling and halving (using partitioning). Having looked at the National Strategies, the subject content/topic came under "Year 4 Block B – Securing number facts, understanding shape - Unit 2" (http://nationalstrategies.standards.dcsf.gov.uk/node/19292).
    Can someone please explain whether teaching a Year 4 unit to Year 6 (or even for eg a Year 3 unit to Year 5) is something that happens regularly or has this lesson been taught because the group is low ability. Or is this wrong altogether ?
    I am just trying to get my head round the national strategies and understanding it.
    Thanks

2. nadeemshaikhuk

Hi,

I am a trainee teacher and I carried out a numeracy lesson for Year 6 (low ability group) on doubling and halving (using partitioning). Having looked at the National Strategies, the subject content/topic came under "Year 4 Block B – Securing number facts, understanding shape - Unit 2" (http://nationalstrategies.standards.dcsf.gov.uk/node/19292).
    Can someone please explain whether teaching a Year 4 unit to Year 6 (or even for eg a Year 3 unit to Year 5) is something that happens regularly or has this lesson been taught because the group is low ability. Or is this wrong altogether ?
    I am just trying to get my head round the national strategies and understanding it.
    Thanks

3. I have a low ability Y5 class ranging from level 2 to level 4 in Numeracy and level 1 to level 4 in Literacy.